73-36-09. Composition of forester registration board

There is hereby created the State Board of Registration for Foresters of the State of Mississippi for the purposes of safeguarding forests by regulating the practice of forestry and requiring that persons practicing or offering to practice forestry to be registered. The board shall be composed of seven (7) members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. One (1) member shall be appointed from each of the six (6) forestry commission districts as constituted on January 1, 1999, and one (1) member shall be appointed at large. The State Forester of Mississippi shall serve as an ex officio member of the board. Each of the members shall be a forester within the meaning of this chapter with at least three (3) years’ experience in such field, and a resident and citizen of the State of Mississippi at the time of his appointment. Within thirty (30) days after July 1, 1977, the Governor shall appoint the members, designating a term of office of one (1), two (2), three (3), four (4) or five (5) years for each of the members as appointed; provided, however, two (2) members shall serve a term of one (1) year and two (2) shall serve a term of four (4) years. As the terms of office of the members so appointed expire, successors shall be appointed for terms of five (5) years. Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the board shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term. The Governor shall have the right, upon the approval of a majority of the board, to remove any members of the board for inefficiency, neglect of duty or dishonorable conduct.

Laws 1977, Ch. 475, § 5; Laws 1983, Ch. 326, § 5; Laws 1991, Ch. 330, § 5, eff. July 1, 1991; Laws 1999, Ch. 445, § 4, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 2000, Ch. 601, § 2, eff. July 1, 2000. Reenacted by Laws 2004, Ch. 416, § 5, eff. July 1, 2004; amended by Laws 2007, Ch. 398, § 2, eff. July 1, 2007. Brought forward by Laws 2023, H.B. No. 787, § 6, eff. July 1, 2023.

Site Last Updated:

September 2023